Teaching and Learning Subcommittee

Broadly defined, teaching is the formal and informal professional activity by faculty that fosters and enhances student learning or academic achievement. It includes, but is not limited to, faculty commitment to:

  1. Remaining current and knowledgeable in one's discipline
  2. Being knowledgeable about various teaching techniques
  3. Being knowledgeable about various assessment techniques
  4. Being knowledgeable about up-to-date support materials, such as videos, handouts, software, technology, newspaper and magazine articles, etc.
  5. Interacting with students in and out of the classroom as both instructor and advisor
  6. Motivating student learning
  7. Being knowledgeable about advising techniques, practices and support materials, as appropriate in the classroom or in advising.

Purpose

In an effort to realize the goal of enhancing the mission of student learning, the Teaching and Learning Subcommittee will promote, advocate, develop and support an interest in and concern for scholarship of teaching in individual faculty, departments, colleges and the campus as a whole. It will do this by determining faculty teaching needs; developing, arranging and promoting opportunities and resources to encourage creative teaching; and providing a variety of means to offer recognition for excellence and scholarship in teaching. The Teaching and Learning Subcommittee will also support, through its activities and awards, the University's three core values of civility, integrity, and responsibility.

Teaching and Learning Subcommittee Members

Members
10
Michelle Early Torregano, Chair 
Department of Education
724-938-4499
torregano@calu.edu
Stephanie Adam
Department of Business, Economics and Enterprise Sciences
724-938-4371
adam@calu.edu
Joshua Chicarelli
Department of Business, Economics and Enterprise Sciences
724-938-5632
chicarelli@calu.edu
Jodi Dusi
Department of Nursing and Health Sciences
724-938-4562
dusi@calu.edu
Fanourious Halkiadakis
Department of Computer Science, Info Systems and Engineering Technology
724-938-4481
halkiadakis@calu.edu
Theresa Thao Pham
Department of Health and Human Service Professions
724-938-4218
pham@calu.edu
Mathilda Spencer
Department of Social Sciences
724-938-5723
spencer@calu.edu