Service and Service-Learning Subcommittee

Broadly defined, service is a faculty member's commitment to the community, which includes, but is not limited to: academic, professional, governmental, local, national, international and cultural communities.

Service is:

  1. The enhancement of knowledge and information
  2. Assistance through interactive planning and growth of knowledge, concepts, skills or affective relationships
  3. Resources identified as useful to the stability of the community at large.

Also included is support for on-going projects that have long term need for growth and development expertise, as well as the support of national and international endeavors that may be procured and applied to local problems and needs. Service endeavors are not considered service and service-learning if the activity is performed as part of an established full or part-time employment condition.

Purpose

The purpose of the Service and Service-Learning Subcommittee is to assist the FPDC in support and encouragement of both community-based and campus-wide service and service learning activities at California University of Pennsylvania. The Subcommittee makes recommendations on service-related awards and activities.

Service and Service-Learning Subcommittee Members

Members
8
Christopher Wydra, Chair
Department of Social Sciences
724-938-4294
wydra@calu.edu
Nicole Evanick
Department of Nursing and Health Sciences
724-938-5952
evanick@calu.edu
Maggie Habeeb
Department of Mathematics and Physical Sciences
724-938-1539
habeeb@calu.edu
Stephanie Adam
Department of Business, Economics and Enterprise Sciences
724-938-4371
adam@calu.edu
Eron McMillen
Department of TRIO and Academic Services
724-938-4470
mcmillen_e@calu.edu
Scott Hargraves
Department of Nursing and Health Sciences
724-938-5031
hargraves@calu.edu
Sabrina Hykes-Davis
Department of Culture, Media and Performance
724-938-5582
hykesdavis@calu.edu
M. Scott Zema
Department of Nursing and Health Sciences
724-938-5954
zema@calu.edu