Research Subcommittee

Broadly defined, research is work that enhances the knowledge of ourselves and the world around us by:

  1. producing new theories, criticism, concepts, or information
  2. exploring, interpreting, and evaluating extant theories, criticism, concepts, bodies of evidence, or programs
  3. applying theoretical, critical, or conceptual perspectives
  4. synthesizing any of the above.

It also includes examining and creating methodologies and other principles and techniques involved in these definitions.

Purpose

The purpose of the Research Subcommittee is to assist the FPDC in encouraging and supporting faculty and joint student/faculty research activities at California University. The subcommittee will make recommendations to the FPDC on related-research awards and activities.

Research Subcommittee Members

Members
Jodi Dusi, Chair
Department of Nursing and Health Sciences
724-938-4562
dusi@calu.edu
Maggie Habeeb
Department of Mathematics and Physical Sciences
724-938-1539
habeeb@calu.edu
Daniel Harris
Department of Biology, Geology and Environmental Sciences
724-938-5864
Harris_D@calu.edu
Cynthia Persinger
Department of Culture, Media and Performance
724-938-4862
persinger@calu.edu
Kimberly Vanderlaan
Department of Culture, Media and Performance
724-938-4721
vanderlaan@calu.edu
David Argent
Department of Biology, Geology and Environmental Sciences
724-938-1529
argent@calu.edu
Carrie Rosengart Elkin
Department of Social Sciences
724-938-6045
rosengart@calu.edu
Azadeh Block
Department of Health and Human Service Professions
724-938-4289
block@calu.edu
Kyle Fredrick
Department of Biology, Geology and Environmental Sciences
724-938-4463
fredrick@calu.edu
JP Staszel
Department of Culture, Media and Performance
724-938-5580
staszel@calu.edu